Is It Time For The Bruins And Russian Forward Alexander Khokhlachev To Part Ways?

Should the Bruins part ways with their 2011 second-round draft choice Alexander Khokhlachev?

By Mike Grinnell. Follow @MikeGrinnell_

It seems as though KoKo feels that way.

Khokhlachev told reporters Saturday about his frustration with the Bruins and that he feels his time is now. “Boston should make a decision with me,” said the 2011 second-round draft choice. “I wait for my chance already two years, so I’m still waiting. We’ll see. They should make decision, give me the chance, or I don’t know.”

Khokhlachev, who is in the last year of his contract and whose name always seems to mentioned around the trade deadline (most notably in 2013 in a Jarome Iginla trade. Doesn’t feel he has really gotten a fair chance here in Boston, with the big club.

“I played two games and the third game I played two minutes,” Said KoKo. “I don’t think that’s really a chance. I played fourth line. It doesn’t really matter what line I play, but I don’t think it’s really a chance to be played two games.”

“This is my last year of contract,” Khokhlachev said. “You know, I’m 22 already. If they don’t give me the chance to play, why I’m here?” and it certainly seems that the young Russian has had enough with Providence and the AHL. “I will not play in Providence all my life. They told me just wait for your chance and I’m still waiting for it.”

In 137 games with the Providence Bruins, Khokhlachev has tallied 38 goals and 103 points in 3 seasons. So the numbers and production at the AHL level are there, the question is, why hasn’t he been given a chance with the big club?

In the 3 games KoKo broke the lineup for the Bruins in the 14-15 campaign, Khokhlachev was -2 and looked lost defensively and anyone who has been a fan of the Bruins in recent years, knows that does not fly well with Coach Claude Julien.

So what is my solution?

Trade him.

There are plenty of teams where Khokhlachev can get a regular shift and I’m sure plenty of teams would take a chance on the young Russian. With the top 3 center positions filled in Boston (Krejci, Bergeron, Spooner) and the Bruins being heavy in veterans 4th liners (Rinaldo, Talbot, Kelly) the only real option is to make a trade.

Whether that trade involves Khokhlachev or an aging veteran, if Alexander Khokhlachev wants to see any time in Boston this season, a move needs to be made.

For the best coverage of the Boston Bruins, follow ESPN New Hampshire and Mike Grinnell.

Leave a Reply

