Bruins Blow Two Goal Lead, Fall To Avalanche 3-2

After an early two-goal lead, Bruins fall to Avs 3-2

By:Mike Grinnell

Follow @MikeGrinnell_

The Bruins fell to the Colorado Avalanche Thursday night, by a score of 3-2. In a game that saw Dennis Seidenberg return to play his first game of the season, the Bruins blew an early two-goal lead, to fall to Carl Soderberg and the Colorado Avalanche.

Ryan Spooner and Zdeno Chara put the Bruins up two on the Avs, just six minutes into the first period, but the B’s couldn’t even hold the lead until the end of the first, giving up a goal to the angry-one eyed-sweed, Carl Soderberg, who was playing his first game in Boston since he was traded from the team this summer, and a goal to Francois Beauchemin, who scored in the final minute of the period, to tie the game at 2-2.

Matt Duchene put the Avalanche up 3-2 6:49 into the third period as the Avs held on for the victory. Tuukka Rask played solid on the back end for the Bruins, allowing 3 goals on 27 shots.

The real story in tonights game was the return on Dennis Seidenberg, who tallied 15:34 TOI in his first game of the season.

“I was a little nervous in the beginning,” Seidenberg told reporters after the game, “but I was very excited to be back and being able to play. It’s been a long time but it was okay.”

Seidenberg hopes to make an impact on this young group of defensemen, by playing simple, yet physical hockey. “I mean my role is play my brand of hockey which is playing solid defensively, penalty killing. Just making a simple play and playing physical hockey and winning my battles and that’s just what we have to focus on and whatever else happens, its fine.”

Brad Marchand was also in the center of a game misconduct last night, that surprisingly, didn’t involve him. Marchand took a high hit to the head from Colorado forward Gabriel Landeskog, which led to Landeskog being ejected from the game.

“I didn’t see it coming” Marchand said after Thursday night’s loss. “I mean, I know I got hit in the head and that’s all I was concerned about, my well-being and making sure I was okay. That’s it.”

Landeskog tried to apologize to Marchand immedietly after the hit, but let’s be serious Bruins fans, does anyone think Marchand would take kindly to a dirty hit, on himself!?

“Right away like I said I tried to let up and then I tried to skate up and apologize and tell him I didn’t mean to come across and he – obviously he wasn’t hurt with that sucker punch.” Landeskog told reporters after the game. “Like I said, I’m happy he didn’t get hurt. I feel like principle point of contact was shoulder and like I said I’m happy he didn’t get hurt.”

On a positive note, Bruins rookie and Long Meadow Mass. Native Frank Vatrano looked good in his third game as a Bruin and seems to have won over the, tough-to-impress Claude Julien.

“He had a couple of chances, but I think as a team all of us could’ve been a little better.” Coach Claude Julien told reporters after Thursday night’s loss. “He’s young player that comes in and every game he plays he has opportunities. He’s, to me, he seems to be a gifted goal scorer, or at least a guy that every game creates something that gives you an opportunity to score.”

The Bruins have lost 3 of their last 4 and are off until Saturday, where the will host the Detroit Red Wings at the TD Garden.

For the best coverage of the NHL and the Boston Bruins Follow @MikeGrinnell_ and check out his blog onESPNNHRadio.com. Also tune into the ESPN New Hampshire Bruins Pregame Show an hour before game time. 

 

(Photo by Brian Babineau/NHLI via Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

