ESPN New Hampshire Adds Ben Shapiro To Team For Red Sox Coverage

Bummed out about the Patriots? Mired in the midseason malaise of the both the Boston Celtics and Boston Bruins?

Perhaps you didn’t realize it, but Truck Day is February 10th, and pitchers and catchers report to spring training on February 18th.

Yes Boston Red Sox baseball is less than a month away, and that makes today as good a day as any to introduce myself.

My name is Ben Shapiro and I’m excited to be joining the ESPN New Hampshire team as a Boston Red Sox columnist.

Raised in Western Massachusetts and currently residing in (of all places) New York City, I’ve been a Red Sox fan my whole life. I’m in my early 40’s which means that my earliest Red Sox memories involve Bucky Dent and that painful 1978 collapse.

I’ve been through 1986, Morgan Magic, the 1994 work stoppage, Mo Vaughn, Roger Clemens and both of his 20 strikeout masterpieces. Pedro, Nomar and Manny.

I moved to New York City in 2000, which means that I was unlucky enough to be living in New York City when Aaron Boone ended the 2003 ALCS, and lucky enough to be in attendance at Yankee Stadium for Game 7 of the 2004 ALCS.

Since then I’ve seen the ups (2007, 2013) and downs. I’ve written for Bleacher Report, Huffington Post and MassLive.com.

I’m one of those odd people who likes Baseball more than football. That doesn’t mean I’m not a big Patriots fan. In spite of my New York residency, I openly and proudly support the Red Sox, Patriots, Celtics and Bruins. Living in New York City has provided me with a unique perspective on the rivalry that exists between New York City, and New England based pro sports franchises.

I try to maintain an active presence on twitter @redsoxmonster.

As much as I appreciate the Red Sox, I strive to maintain a fairly unbiased take on the team. Even the most die hard fan would have to admit that there have been plenty of mistakes over the years. If you remove the 2013 season, the decade has been a very rough ride. You can appreciate and root for the Red Sox and still maintain the ability to point out short-comings and mistakes.

I watch a lot of baseball, not just the Red Sox, and not just the American League either. I follow the minors and the draft.

I’m excited for baseball all year long. I’m excited for the upcoming season and I’m very excited to be joining the ESPN New Hampshire team to share that excitement with all of their readers and listeners.

(Picture via AP)

Leave a Reply

