All Routes Lead to Frozen Four in Tampa

The college hockey season began in October with 60 Division I teams competing for a chance to play for the national championship. Sunday, with the conference championships decided, the NCAA selection committee whittled the field down to the 16 teams that have earned the privilege to extend their seasons and play in the regional playoffs. On the line is a trip to the Frozen Four in Tampa, Florida where this year’s national champion will be crowned.

The East Regional tournament will be played in Albany, New York where number one seed, and ECAC champion, Quinnipiac University will face off against Atlantic Hockey champion, RIT, on Saturday, March 26 at 4:00 pm ET. Fans can watch on ESPNU.

The second East Region semifinal has the ECAC’s Yale University taking on Hockey East playoff finalist UMass Lowell at 7:30 pm ET also on Saturday. The game will be aired on ESPN3.

The East Regional final will be played Sunday, March 27th at 7:30 pm ET and can be seen on ESPNU.

Worcester, Massachusetts will host the Northeast Regional where the defending NCAA champion, Providence College, of Hockey East, is the tournament’s overall number four seed. PC (27-6-4) will take the ice versus the National Collegiate Hockey Conference’s University of Minnesota-Duluth (18-15-5) at 4:30 pm ET. ESPN3 will televise the contest.

The second game of the evening in Worcester’s DCU Center will feature Boston College, which finished the regular season as Hockey East co-champions with Providence College. BC will face off against ECAC playoff finalist, and Beanpot tournament rival, Harvard University. The puck will drop at 8:00 pm ET and can be seen on ESPNU.

The regional championship game is slated for Saturday at 9:00 pm ET on ESPNU.

Moving west, the Midwest Regional tournament will be hosted by the city of Cincinnati, Ohio.

The University of North Dakota (30-6-4) of the NCHC is the third overall seed and will be challenged by Hockey East playoff champion Northeastern University (22-13-5) on Friday at 2:00 pm ET. The contest will be broadcast by ESPNU.

Finishing day one of the Midwest Regional will be a match up of old rivals from their Central Collegiate Hockey Association days. The University of Michigan (24-7-5), the Big Ten’s newest champion, will skate against Hockey East’s third-place team, the University of Notre Dame (19-10-7) at 5:30 pm ET also on ESPNU.

The victors of each contest will move on to play Saturday at 6:00 pm ET on ESPN2.

The number two overall seed, St. Cloud State University heads the field in the West Region that will be played in St. Paul, Minnesota.

The Huskies, the NCHC champions (31-8-1), will go up against the Western Collegiate Hockey Conference champion Ferris State University (19-14-6) Saturday at 2:00 pm ET. ESPNews will carry the tilt.

Following that contest, the NCHC’s University of Denver (23-9-6) and Boston University (21-12-5) of Hockey East will square off Saturday at 5:30 pm ET. ESPNU be on hand to bring it to your television.

The Regional Championship is scheduled for Sunday at 4:00 pm ET also on ESPNU.

The winners of each regional championship game will board planes and travel to sunny Florida to compete April 7-9 in the 2016 Frozen Four Tournament.

Follow ESPN New Hampshire NHL/NCAA Hockey Writer, Shawn Hutcheon, on Twitter at @ShawnHutcheon.

Frozen Four Logo:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s